Silent Surrender

trust
trʌst
noun

firm belief in the reliability, truth, or ability of someone or something.

[the opposite of trust is control]

“All these people died still believing what God had promised them.  They did not receive what was promised, but they saw it all from a distance and welcomed it.” – Hebrews 11:13

“Even though the fig trees have no blossoms and there are no grapes on the vines; even though the olive crops fails and the fields lie empty and barren; even though the flocks die in the fields, and the cattle barns are empty, yet I will rejoice in the Lord!  I will be joyful in the God of my salvation!  The Sovereign Lord is my strength!  He makes me as surefooted as a deer, able to tread upon the heights.” – Hebrews 3:17-19

Do you trust God?

Do you trust Him when all is well?

Do you trust Him when something goes wrong?

Will you trust God, even if you can’t see?

Will you trust Him, even if reality does not reflect your prayers of desire?

Will you trust Him, regardless of all things?

In the past year, God has been teaching me about trust, surrender, submission, and joy that is fixed on Him – regardless of what’s going on in my life or around me.  I’ve learnt that control is not up to me, and that anxiety and frustration is the feelings that I get when I’m busy trying to control something that’s not up to me.  I’ve learnt that trust is the antidote to fear, and that trust is only grown in relationship.  And relationship is only grown through spending time together.  Time with God.

I realized that if I trust God in all things, and if I believe that He is the source of all things, and if I say that “the joy of the Lord is my strength” – then my joy should be constant, because God is constant.  This was (is still) definitely not always the case.  I believe that it is the truth, and that it is possible to move closer to the truth.  God said to me “your attitude will be your victory” and he established a joy that is taking me through a season of preparation that would otherwise have been excruciating.

I’ve learnt to only do what God tells me to do.  It’s been a crazy year, working full time and starting a business.  I believe God’s lead me and opened doors for me to start the business, and I believe that God has a plan with keeping me at my day job.  Through the business, I’ve learnt that rest is not a place or a bed or sitting still.  Rest is when I walk in God’s plan for my life and there’s exactly enough time for everything.

I’ve learnt that there is rest in obedience.

There is freedom in surrender.

My delight is in you Lord, on your Word I set my heart.  You are peace, you are calm, to my restless soul.  You light my way through the dark.

Leave a Reply

