A THOUSAND HOURS

success
səkˈsɛs
noun

the accomplishment of an aim or purpose

In the past two years, I’ve mastered the art of time-tetris.  On top of a full time, 40-hours-a-week job, I started a business.

I consider time a currency, so understand what I mean when I say that this was a major investment for me – a thousand hours, about 9% of my total awake time in the past two years.  It is the equivalent of 8 university subjects of 120 credits each.  If you’re a gym fanatic and you train 1 hour every day of the year, it’s more than the time that you spend in the gym.

Many people warned me against it.  Few people supported me and few encouraged me. Only when it started bearing fruit, did I hear any objective affirmation of my sanity.

I am happy to report that it did cost my sanity, and all of my physical energy, and all of my emotional capacity and more faith than I have.

And I would do it again.

There are a few things that you need to know before I share the testimony of God’s AMAZING sovereign hand in this whole process:

  • In 2016 when I started this, God gave me a word: Trust. The challenge in my heart was this:  Am I willing to do things for God’s kingdom, even if I don’t get the reward or even see the results?  Or do I only do things for God so that I can get something from it?

    “All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth.” Heb 11:13

  • “Dream no small dreams, for they have no power to move the hearts of men”
    – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

    This is a quote that I’ve had up on my wall for the past 4 years.
    I stay near Goethe street.
    For the past 4 years, I would walk in Goethe street and think and pray and dream (big dreams, ones that could change hearts) about a house in that street that could be changed into a learning center for high school kids.
  • I love teaching, and I have a dream of doing exactly the above.
  • I burned out doing this while working a full time job.  Something needs to pay the rent.

Right before I burnt out, I met a woman with EXACTLY the same vision as me, planning to start in the next month.

Coincidentally, she and her husband just bought a house in Goethe street, where they plan to convert a part of the house into a learning center.

“Coincidentally”

God asked me to hand over the baton.

I cried so much.

I was so tired.

I was so alone.

I felt like no one understood.

But at the same time, I experienced peace that surpasses understanding.

A decision made with evidence of God’s guidance.

So I have a new definition of success.

Success = Obedience to God.

Times when I am obedient to God’s plan, I experience peace that trumps the worldly benefits of other choices that I could have made on my own.

Here’s what I’ve learnt from this crazy endeavor that almost everyone warned me against:

  • Starting a business will be the most lonely thing you will ever do.
  • You will be misunderstood more often that you can anticipate.
  • This will hurt you more than you will want to admit.
  • You will have to say no to a lot of things that normal people do.
  • You don’t get to complain about the schedule you create.
  • “Busy” is a bad excuse.
  • Fuel makes the machine go – rest and healthy food is more important than you want to make it.
  • Family is EXTREMELY important.  They might not understand what you want to do, or see things as you see them, but they are the ONLY people who will always truly have your best interest at heart.  And they will the only thing that remains when all else fails.
  • Fun is a very important aspect of life.  Don’t desert goofball island.
  • You can’t make decisions based on how you feel.  Feelings change.
  • God doesn’t need you to make his plan work.
  • If you commit your plans to the Lord, He will open doors.  He will also have the right to close them.
  • Burnout is real.  And it sucks.
  • God is good, and it does not depend on how you feel about it.
Leave a Reply

